About the group

The Macroevolution research team is led by Dr Gavin Thomas, and consists of 1 post-doctoral researcher (Dr Chris Cooney), 3 PhD students (Angela Chira, Yichen He and Emma Hughes) and 1 research assistant (Zoë Varley).

For further information on each of the team members profiles, please select their name below or from the drop down menu bar above.



Dr Gavin Thomas is the lab PI. General hinderer of productivity.

Dr Chris Cooney is an evolutionary biologist and macroecologist, specialising in speciation.


Angela Chira is a PhD student. Working on the dark side of comparative methods


Yichen He is a PhD student.


Emma Hughes is a PhD student. Loves birds, dead or alive.

Zoë Varley is an RA. Museologist masquerading as a scientist.

PhD Students

Magnus Clarke:  Evolutionary models with ecological interactions  (lead supervisor Rob Freckleton)
Emma Jardine (lead supervisor Colin Osborne) http://osbornelab.group.shef.ac.uk/people/emma-jardine/
Kim Mullins (lead supervisor Colin Osborne) http://osbornelab.group.shef.ac.uk/people/kimberley-mullins/


Dr Jen Bright is now an Assistant Professor at the University of South Florida. External link.
Dr Thanh-Lan Gluckman is now working as a post-doc on the developmental mechanisms of avian plumage patterns in Marie Manceau’s lab at the Collège de France. External link.
Elliot Capp is training to become a teacher extraordinaire.
Chris Moody is no longer plying his trade in academia and has moved on into the world of engineering.
Michael Jardine is embarking on a PhD.
Lara Nouri is now conducting research with Steve Portugal on how GPS biologgers impact bird metabolism and physiology.
Dr Anna Krystalli is an open science advocate.
Dr Mark Puttick is now a post-doc at the Natural History Museum, London.